Skip to content

Parable of the Talents

October 25, 2012

Today, I will be leading a team bible study on the parable of the talents after our first plyometric workout of this fall.  I am really excited for this!  I am excited for both the physical workout that the coaches will put us through, and also for the spiritual workout I will get as I lead the bible study.  The parable of the talents is something that I have heard time and time again from my dad.  My dad is a motivational speaker and he doesn’t even know it.  He will always put a sticky note on the bathroom mirror with scripture on it and the scripture is always something that involves hard work.  He believes that everything we get is obtained by hard work and using the gifts God gave us to their fullest.  When I was a 12 year old playing baseball for the Beaver Valley Baseball Club,  he suggested that my number be 52.  He did this so it would be a constant reminder that hard work pays off. So naturally my dad drools when he hears the phrase “parable of the talents”.

When we look at Matthew 24:14-30, we see the story of hard work and using God’s gifts he has bestowed upon us.  Jesus tells a story of a master giving talents to his workers.  Now in biblical times, a talent was not a physical gift, rather it was a sum of money equivalent to 20 years wages.  Today we use the term ‘talent’ as an ability such as athletic ability or talent in the classroom.

“15 To one he gave five talents, to another two, to another one, to each according to his ability. Then he went away. 16 He who had received the five talents went at once and traded with them, and he made five talents more. 17 So also he who had the two talents made two talents more. 18 But he who had received the one talent went and dug in the ground and hid his master’s money.”

Further on in the reading, we see the master come back some time later to check on what the people had done with the talents he had given to them.  The man with 5 talents doubled his and the master was happy.  The man with 2 talents doubled his and the master was even more thrilled for he had done a lot with little given to him.  However the master was displeased when he saw that the man he had given one talent to was lazy and buried his talent.

20 And he who had received the five talents came forward, bringing five talents more, saying, “Master, you delivered to me five talents; here I have made five talents more.” 21 His master said to him, “Well done, good and faithful servant.  You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.” 22 And he also who had the two talents came forward, saying, “Master, you delivered to me two talents; here I have made two talents more.” 23 His master said to him, “Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.” 24 He also who had received the one talent came forward, saying, “Master, I knew you to be a hard man, reaping where you did not sow, and gathering where you scattered no seed, 25 so I was afraid, and I went and hid your talent in the ground. Here you have what is yours.” 26 But his master answered him, “You wicked and slothful servant! You knew that I reap where I have not sown and gather where I scattered no seed?

After reading this story, I realized that with hard work, we will double the talents given to us.  But I also realized that doubling these talents is not for our own glory.  The two men who doubled their talents did this because it was something they needed to do.  They were obliged to do the work the master sent them out to do.  When God gives us gifts, he does not want us to sit on our hands and just watch our talent.  He wants us to go out and use the talents and not only grow ourselves but also influence others.  He wants us to be good stewards and go do the work that he has blessed us to be able to do.  He does not want us to be slothful servants! (as my dad has called me if I neglect to get the extra baseball swings)

#ballin4Christ

From → Blog

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

