Skip to content

9/11 “All God, All the Time”

September 12, 2011

Hey bloggers!  It has been awhile since I have last posted but a good friend of mine, DJ Damazo, has asked me to forward his take on 9/11 to as many people as possible.  I am going to be honest and say it has changed me!  Take a look below and check it out.  It will be worth your time!

As I was coming home from church today, I could not stop thinking about my Pastor Larry Bettencourt’s message about hope and the tragic events of 9/11.  These thoughts made me realize many things and I feel that God has called me to write them down and share them with whoever may read this. We all know what happened ten years ago.  We all know where we were.  We all know how we felt.  Many people wanted to put a blame on someone or something so they blamed these events on God. “Why would God do this?” or “How could God do this to innocent people?”  Two of the verses that Pastor Larry shared today were Jeremiah 29:11 which says, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future” and also John 16:33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”  These verses really hit home and show that if you trust in the Lord, He will get you through anything because He knows what he has in store for you.
While many people put blame on God, many also turned to God in this time of dismay.  On September 12, 2001, many people went to church to pray about what happened and the majority were people that did not attend church on a regular basis.  Also, church attendances for not only the following Sunday but for the following month had sky rocketed.  After this month, however, church attendance went back to the normal numbers.  It is great that people turned to God during these times of need but to develop a real relationship with God you must turn to Him or have Him with you no matter what.  It is easy to turn to God when you have a problem.  The difficult thing is to maintain that relationship with God.  Not to belittle or disrespect the people that died on September 11 but if you think about it, every day is like the horrible day of 9/11, just on a lesser scale.  Obviously there are not always acts of terrorism but there are still thousands of people dying from crazy people, drug usage, and many other horrible things that happen every single day.  In the sinful world that we live in today, God must be the center of everything in life because only He can provide comfort, answers, and love through the good times and through the bad times.
After writing this, I guess the purpose was intended to the people that do not take their faith as serious as they may want or should and want to take it to the next step.  Are you someone that only turns to God in times of trouble or need?  I’m not going to lie, I was once was that guy.  I always loved God and believed in him 100 percent but it was not until I started taking my faith more seriously that i realized how great our God is and the power He has in our every day life.  I realize that you have to glorify Him in everything that you do and trust Him with all of your heart, no matter what.  Sometimes it takes a tragic event like 9/11 to make you realize that you need have God in your every day life.  Do not be a person that only turns to God in times of need.  Be a person that honors God in everything that you do.  I can tell you that ever since I took this next step in my faith, I could not be happier in life.  Sure, there have been many hard times throughout but I know and trust that God has a plan for me and loves me and will help me through any of these troubles.  I don’t know how many people will read this or if anyone will even read this but if you do I challenge you to take the next step in your faith and realize the power of the almighty God and how much He loves you.  If that’s the only thing that you take out of this then I will be a happy boy.  Do not give up hope in God because he certainly will not give up in you.

If you have any questions or need help on staying on fire for Christ email DJ or Pastor Larry:

djdamazo@geneva.edu

larryb@mychampionlife.com

 

 

 

From → Blog

One Comment
  1. Amen to that Mr. Clutch. I remember 911 of the few events in my life that shook me to the core. The next day both houses of Congress sang God Bless America on the Capital steps. I though we may now have a more God fearing country, although this too passed. I enjoyed your writing TD.

Leave a Reply

